top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturedikdidit

Keeping It Fresh

Updated: Dec 18, 2020

Don't limit yourself to what's happening in your field.


When I was a designer for Saul Greene of S.J. Greene Dichic, I asked Saul if I could go with him to the largest jewelry trade show in the U.S.


He said no.


When I asked why, he said, "Your value to my company is in your original ideas. If you go to that show, you'll be influenced by designers turning out tired ideas."

He said: “Stay fresh, go to museums, concerts, anything--but don't pay attention to other jewelry designers."

I wasn't happy about staying home from the trade show then, but I understand it now. If you're a graphic designer, look at the design of a car, a boat, a shoe, a chair. Keep abreast of what's happening in your field, but don't limit yourself to that. Stay fresh, keep it new.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Yorumlar


bottom of page